Where Did That SPAM Come From?


Spammers on the internet will guess at your email address. If it's easy to guess at, ie "sam@domain.com" you will get 'probe' emails. They usually state "Reply with REMOVE in the subject line to get off this list." If you follow their instructions, YOU WILL NOT BE REMOVED . Usually instead they take your now VERIFIED email address and sell it off to a premium mailing list, making money. At that point the spam in your mailbox usually will increase by a large amount. I highly recommend not replying to any spam you receive, and I also recommend that your email address be something unique, not being found in a dictionary helps. These email addresses are also "harvested" by means of robot software that probes web pages, Members Directory, (i.e. AOL), Chat Rooms, and USENET post for email addresses, in both hyper text and text formats trigered by the "@" character.

Please also realize the importance of contacting the original domain when you receive SPAM/UCE. Unless the provider is known to be "spam tolerant" in which case you would froward your complaint to their upline). It's impossible for them to know it's happening until someone forwards them a complaint. If everyone were to ignore spam, the originating domain would never know it's happening.

Here is an example of spam originating from Netcom, even though it does not have the word 'netcom' anywhere in the headers. This is intended as an instruction to people who do not already know how to read headers. If you know how to read headers, please disregard.

This is an EXAMPLE of junk mail headers. Please do not send to any of the domains referenced. The IP numbers have been changed except the ones referencing Netcom.

Received: from server1.fake (server1.fake [266.0.93.1])
          by server2.fake (8.8.5/8.8.5) with ESMTP id VAA13218
          for <> ; Thu, 1 Nov 1961 21:11:53 -0600 (CST)
Received: from internet.abc (server.internet.abc [266.32.0.4]) by
          server1.fake (8.8.7) with ESMTP id VAA06062 for <> ;
          Thu, 1 Nov 1961 21:11:53 -0600 (CST)
Received: from 432BRxr9q ([205.184.139.163])
          by internet.abc (8.8.7/8.8.6) with SMTP id VAA16385;
          Thu, 1 Nov 1961 21:54:25 -0500 (EST)
From: Nowhere@Nothere
Received: from login_0246.whynot.spam (mx.whynot.spam[206.0.231.0]) by
          whynot.spam (8.8.5/8.7.3) with SMTP id XAA02135 for <> ;
          Sat, 13 January 1961 01:51:22 -0700 (EDT)
Date: 05 Nov 10 10:07:12 PM
Message-ID: <anything>
To: friends@mine
Subject: Generic junk mail example
Content-Type: text

Let's start reading this from the top. You reside somewhere in the server2.fake domain. Let's see where you received it from.

Received: from server1.fake (server1.fake [266.0.93.1])
          by server2.fake (8.8.5/8.8.5) with ESMTP id VAA13218
          for <> ; Thu, 1 Nov 1961 21:11:53 -0600 (CST)

You received it from server1 [266.0.93.1]. Never go by what is in the parenthesis. It could be forged, always go by the IP number in brackets. Where did server1 receive it from?

Received: from internet.abc (server.internet.abc [266.32.0.4]) by
          server1.fake (8.8.7) with ESMTP id VAA06062 for <> ;
          Thu, 1 Nov 1961 21:11:53 -0600 (CST)

This means that server1 received it from [266.32.0.4], there are tools on the web that will help you verify the name associated with the IP number (see below). Let's keep going down and see if this IP was the originator or if it was relayed through them.

Received: from 432BRxr9q ([205.184.139.163])
          by internet.abc (8.8.7/8.8.6) with SMTP id VAA16385;
          Thu, 6 Nov 1997 21:54:25 -0500 (EST)

This means that it was relayed through internet.abc! It came from 205.184.139.163. Now we go to one of our tools to find the name associated to that IP number. I use nslookup on 205.184.139.163. It tells me that it is knx-tn7-03.ix.netcom.com. Let's go down one more time to see if this is the originator, or if it was relayed through netcom also.

Received: from login_0246.whynot.spam (mx.whynot.spam[206.0.231.0]) by
          whynot.spam (8.8.5/8.7.3) with SMTP id XAA02135 for <> ;
          Sat, 01 January 1914 01:51:22 -0700 (EDT)

If this was a valid Received line, it would show received by netcom.com. Since it doesn't this is a FORGED header.

Conclusion: It originated at [205.184.139.163] which is knx-tn7-03.ix.netcom.com. It was relayed through [266.32.0.4] which was internet.abc.

Not all SPAM's will come with a vast number of forged headers. There are email programs that act as their own sendmail, and send the SPAM straight from a dial-up account. Here is an example.

Received: from 206.175.97.77 by pageplanet.com
           with SMTP (Eudora Internet Mail Server 1.2);
           Sat, 21 Feb 1998 20:11:38 -0500
From: jtsr-stock@jtsr-stock.com
To: Friend@pageplanet.com
Subject: HOT STOCK-Double Your Money By Easter!!
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Date: Sat, 21 Feb 1998 20:11:38 -0500
Message-ID: <1324030598-9640589@pageplanet.com>

There is several line in the headers that will miss-lead the new-comer. You will note the To line

To:     Friend@pageplanet.com

The SPAMmer simply places Friend@ in the To line, and the receiving machine when preforming a DNS check will fill in the line to complete the headers. This DOES NOT mean your ISP is at fault.

The second line that brings questions to the new-comer is the Message-ID

Message-ID: <1324030598-9640589@pageplanet.com>

Being the message reached your ISP's server without a Message-ID, their server will assign the message one. This is standard for all ISP's.

You will note that these headers has only one Received line. The ip number in the line is the point of injection confirmed by the server. Had the SPAMmer programmed his/her software to give a HELO, the ip in the DNS Callback would have been inclosed.

Received: from 206.175.97.77 by pageplanet.com

Conclusion: It originated at 206.175.97.77 which is hdn86-077.hil.compuserve.com sent directly to pageplanet.com.

Remember, always go by the IP addresses in brackets. Never go by the From line, Reply-To line, Authenticated Sender line, or the name of the domain in the parenthesis. To find tools such as 'nslookup' on the web, use your favorite search engine to lookup that word.

There is two parts to a server name. The name (i.e. mail.kellyfreehold.com), and the ip (i.e. 205.152.36.30). When a server is "shaking hands" with another server, they introduce themselves with what is called a HELO. This HELO can be forged. Prudent System Administrators will configure their machines to preform what is called a DNS CallBack, that is to challenge the HELO for Authentication. This will usually be found after the HELO inclosed in parentheses, or brackets. If the HELO has an ip enclosed in parentheses, the server will place the CallBack information enclosed in brackets.

The point of injection is usually found in the first to third "received" line depending upon the type of software used to send the SPAM/UCE. If you note a forged HELO followed by a CallBack the information in the CallBack will usually be the point of injection.

This may also be seen in another format in which the spammer forges the HELO. In such a case the header may appear as:

Received: from mail.kellyfreehold.com (206.175.97.77) by pageplanet.com
           with SMTP (Eudora Internet Mail Server 1.2);
           Sat, 21 Feb 1998 20:11:38 -0500
From: jtsr-stock@jtsr-stock.com
To: Friend@pageplanet.com
Subject: HOT STOCK-Double Your Money By Easter!!
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Date: Sat, 21 Feb 1998 20:11:38 -0500
Message-ID: <1324030598-9640589@pageplanet.com>
In this case the rDNS results is displayed and inclosed by the parenthesis, (206.175.97.77), An nslookup of mail.kellyfreehold.com has the IP address of 205.160.14.30 which revels the HELO is a complete forgery, therefore mail.kellyfreehold.com is a victim of another spammers lie. Sending a complaint to postmaster@kellyfreehold.com, or their providers would be counterproductive, and put an overload on their system and employees that essentially has the same results as "spamming" the victim with complaints.

Where you can find the "Tools" to trace the "point of injection" and the SPAMmers internet provider or connection?

http://www.samspade.org/t/

http://www.arin.net/whois/arinwhois.html

Where to send your complaint.

In most cases, email your complaint the the SPAMmer provider at postmaster@theproviders domain.

Remember, NEVER flame the SPAMmer, or send a reply . Being you have taken a stand against this type of Net Abuse, you will be, and are considered by the SPAMmers as a "Net-Terrorist", and they will retaliate in what ever means they can . There WILL BE, AND IS A CONTRACT on your internet account.

Cordially,

Duane K. Kelly


- OUR POLICY - OUR VIEWS - THEIR VIEWS - MONEY - PUPPIES - TRACKS -

Created: Mar 24, 1998 17:10:28
Last Update: Tuesday, August 07, 2001
By: Duane K. Kelly -
Copyright © 1997-2001 Kelly Freehold
Terms of use for this page